Fixture List 2014-2015

Please click below for the Newport & District League Fixture list 2014 – 2015.

Newport League Fixtures 2014-15 Rev

Malpas Squads 2013-2014

The new Malpas squads are:

A – Paul Hatchett, Dave Turner, Nick Davies, Paul Tew

B – Rob Taylor, James Lavender, Ron Williams, Dave Williams, Steve Williams

C – Wynn Howells, Dave Roberts, Simon Tang, Graham Johnson,  (Paul Tew, Steve Williams)

D – Mark Emblem, Richard Livermore (new member)  Dave Williams, Ron Williams, (Wynn Howells, Dave Roberts)


2013/2014 Fixture List

Ron Williams has now supplied the 2013/2014 fixture list which you can read below.

Newport League Fixtures 2013-14 Final

Dear All,
I attach the fixture list for the new season.  Please let me know if you have any queries or foresee any problems.
I should be grateful if you would provide the name, telephone number and
email address for the captain of each of your teams before the season
starts – I already have this information for Cwmbran and partial
information for Abergavenny.  Match Captains should also ensure that
they are familiar with rule changes resulting from the Gwent CA AGM in
June.  A copy of the rules, with AGM changes highlighted, will be on the
Gwent CA website shortly.
Best wishes for an enjoyable season.

Subscription Fees Due Now !!

Please note that the subscription fee for Malpas Chess Club (which includes the WCU fee) is now due and is £20.

Please pay Dave Williams if possible, you can contact him on 07775 854 663.

Newport League Fixtures 2012-2013

This just in from Ron:


Dear All,
I attach the Newport League Fixtures 2012-13.  Please let me know asap if you have any queries or foresee any problems. 
Pontypool have provided me with details of their team captains and,of course, i have this information for Malpas.  I should be grateful if Abergavenny, Cwmbran and Newport would provide me with the names and contact details (telephone and email address) for the captains of each of their teams.
Best wishes for an enjoyable season,

MCC Squads 2012-2013


Malpas Chess Club Squads for the 2012/2013 Season

Please note that although these are primary squads it is expected to be commonplace for players to be approached by the captains of other teams about their availability to play for that team, even in other divisions. It is also expected that in such instances the “borrowing” captain will have agreed this with the “lending” captain in advance, i.e. to ensure that there no rule infringements and/or to ensure that this does not affect the player’s ability to play for their primary team later in the season.


A Team (Div 1) B Team (Div 1) C Team (Div 2) D Team (Div 2)
Captain Captain Captain Captain
Gary Thomas Nick Davies Wyn Howells Ron Williams
Players (in no particular   order) Players (in no particular   order) Players (in no particular   order) Players (in no particular   order)
Gary Thomas

Dave Turner

Steve Vickery

Robert Taylor

Paul Tew

James Lavender

Dave Roberts

Nick Davies

Ron Williams

Steve Williams

Dave Williams

Wyn Howells

Farhan Shataly

Paul Hatchett

Wyn Howells

Paul Tew



Simon Tang

Ron Williams

Graham Johnson

Mark Emblem

James Lavender

Dave Roberts


If anyone thinks I have made a mistake interpreting Ron’s handwriting on this, please let me know!

Thank you and Good Luck for the season!




Malpas Chess Club AGM


Please note that the Malpas Chess Club AGM will take place at the Three Horseshoes pub on Wednesday 5th September, commencing at 1900hrs.

Here is the proposed Agenda.

1. Chairmans Opening Statement
2. Officers Reports for 2011/2012 season (Club, Captain, A Team Captain, B Team Captain, C Team Captain, Secretary, Treasurer, Website Administrator)
3. Motions and Voting (including subscription level setting)
4. Teams and Squad composition for 2012/2013 season
5. Election of Officers for 2012/2013 season
6. Chairmans Closing Staterment

If anyone has any agenda items they wish to add or motions they wish to propose please submit these to me in writing before Sunday 2nd Sept.

If I’ve missed anyone from the distribution of this mail please let me know or pass it on.

Thank you.


Malpas B win Division Two

If you haven’t heard already, Malpas B have come top of Division Two and Malpas C were second!  Congratulations to both teams for this fantastic performance!  In addition, five out of the top ten best percentage scores were from Malpas players – Dave Roberts, Farhan, Dave Williams, Simon and Wyn Howells!

Team Pld W D L Void GP MP
Malpas B 13 11 0 2 1 32 22
Malpas C 13 7 2 4 29.5 16
Pontypool B 13 5 3 5 29 13
North Gwent A 13 6 1 6 1 26 13
Bishops 13 5 2 6 27 12
Rooks 13 5 1 7 25 11
Abergavenny C 13 5 1 7 24.5 11
North Gwent B 7 0 0 7 2 0

Malpas C 3.5 – 0.5 NGA

Board One was ineligible, and therefore the final result was 0 – 4 to NGA.

Malpas C NGA
Gary Thomas 1885 1 0 Zane Allford 1775
Steve Vickery 1666 1 0 Dave Green 1464
Mark Emblem 1517 0.5 0.5 Jane Pennock 1289
G Johnson u 1 0 Graham Pugh 1167
3.5 0.5

Malpas C 0.5 – 3.5 Abergavenny C

Malpas C lost out to the slightly stronger Abergavenny side – but they’re still second in the league!  Well done to Simon for almost winning his game against Brian Ross.

Malpas C Abergavenny C
Steve Vickery 1666 0 1 Andrew Owen 1779
Wyn Howells 1616 0 1 John O’Shea 1595
Simon Tang 1388 0.5 0.5 Brian Ross 1521
Mark Emblem 1517 0 1 Tony Davies 1449
0.5 3.5